Ubuntu Vs. Mageia : My Dilemma …

When I joined my college i was instructed to work on Mageia to know about Linux distribution and how Linux OS are different from Windows OS.

 

In that process I developed a liking to Mageia I worked on understanding it and then I learnt that there were many OS like Mageia. I started testing them i found many of them were good but not better than Mageia or else i dind’t like them but there was 1 OS which stood out.

 

 

That was Ubuntu and I started comparing them and the result I got is here.

Mageia Vs. Ubuntu :

Release

  • Release
    Mageia had its first release on 1 June 2011 ,while that of ubuntu was on 20 October 2004, that suggests that ubuntu has been up from years and Mageia is a new player.
  • Security
    ubuntu is robust and is known for the high level of security it offers.
  • Resources  
    There are numerous sites that provide training in the linux technologies and ubuntu in particular besides  there is the detailed wiki and official documentation of the ubuntu server .
  • ubuntu has a seemless user experience and satisfaction
  • Scalability
    ubuntu is highly scalable(fifty thousand-node cloud) and cloud integrable .
  • Support
    The present verson of mageia (V4) is supported untill August 1st, 2015.
    The present LTS 14.04 is supported untill 2019-april.
    For every long-term release ubuntu provides 5 yrs of support while mageia promises only 18 months
    The community support of Ubuntu is flawless while that of Mageia is not to that level of excellence.
    Bugs  will be fixed as soon as we report them to the community for there are  many active linux programmers working on ubuntu and in case of mageia I  have no idea .
  • Hardware support 
    Both of them are built on linux kernel so have the same hardware support and ubuntu being the leading player of linux has an advantage in this aspect too.
  • As both of them have the same kernel , are based upon Linux and have similarites all over the above are the ones that are not common
  • Finally , choose among the different Linux distributions according to your specific needs.

I still like Mageia but after understanding the difference between them I am thinking about shifting towards Ubuntu.

One thought on “Ubuntu Vs. Mageia : My Dilemma …

  1. mageia is a testing version of mandriva seed,but ubuntu is original os.That thing which makes ubuntu best for newbies is its community support.i started using ubuntu without any proper guidance because i thought that community help will be enough.I was right.yesterday i upgraded to 14.04 from 13.10 and i am fully satisfied.Funnily i dont know how to make bootable drive of mageia thats why i never used it.

    Like

hey buddy !!!, have something to say ? just say it man..